Kilkenny: activités

Explorez Kilkenny médiévale

Située en plein cœur de l'ancien est irlandais, Kilkenny, la capitale médiévale de l'Irlande, est parfaitement située et connectée pour les visiteurs nationaux et internationaux, à seulement 90 minutes de Dublin, à deux heures de Cork et à trois heures de Belfast.
Une des caractéristiques les plus uniques et uniques de Kilkenny est sa compacité, vous permettant d’explorer tout ce qu’il a à offrir à pied! Le Medieval Mile commence au château de Kilkenny et vous emmène à travers nos rues étroites, en passant par les bâtiments historiques clés et les monuments sur votre chemin. Vous arriverez d'abord au Medieval Mile Museum , suivi d'une promenade dans la grande rue en direction de Rothe House et de Smithwicks Experience, puis d'une visite à la cathédrale Saint-Canice et à la tour ronde. Chaque site est unique et riche en histoire - une visite incontournable lors de votre séjour à Kilkenny!
Jetez un coup d'œil à notre carte imprimable du Moyen-Âge, ou passez à la réception, où l'équipe se fera un plaisir de partager ses connaissances locales sur les meilleures choses à voir et à faire!

Attractions à Kilkenny City

Musée médiéval du mille

St. Mary's Lane, rue haute
Kilkenny
+353 56 781 7022
www.medievalmilemuseum.ie

Le Medieval Mile Museum est la dernière attraction touristique de Kilkenny, située au cœur de la ville de Kilkenny! Situé dans l'église et le cimetière Saint Mary du XIIIe siècle, vous pouvez découvrir 800 ans de notre histoire sous un même toit! Le musée propose des visites guidées et des visites autoguidées et des guides audio sont disponibles dans 5 langues différentes!

Château de Kilkenny

Le défilé, Kilkenny City
+353 56 770 4100
www.kilkennycastle.ie

Avec ses huit siècles d'histoire qui murmurent entre ses murs, le château de Kilkenny est l'un des sites les plus emblématiques et historiques d'Irlande.

Rothe Maison & Jardin

Maison et jardin Rothe, rue du Parlement, Kilkenny
+353 56 7722893
www.rothehouse.com

Niché au cœur du Medieval Mile d'Irlande, le Rothe House and Garden est le seul exemple de maison de ville d'un marchand du début du XVIIe siècle en Irlande et constitue l'un des joyaux cachés de Kilkenny.

Smithwicks Experience Kilkenny

Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny, 44, rue du Parlement, Kilkenny

+353 56 7786377
www.smithwicksexperience.com

Plongez-vous dans l'histoire de Smithwick, racontée comme seul un savoir-faire local. Là où 300 ans d’histoire se combinent à d’extraordinaires innovations brassicoles, le circuit de Smithwick est créé - une expérience unique.

Cathédrale et tour ronde de St. Canices

La fin, Coach Road, Kilkenny
+353 56 64971
www.stcanicescathedral.ie

Construit entre 1202 et 1285, St Canice a été préservé dans son style et sa forme d'origine. Le culte a lieu ici depuis plus de 800 ans. Voir le magnifique vitrail et la plus grande collection de monuments antiques. Visitez Kilkenny et ses environs depuis la tour ronde du IXe siècle (si le temps le permet) et voyez le siège de l'évêque d'Ossory datant de 1120 après JC.

Things to Do in Kilkenny

 

Explore Medieval Kilkenny

Situated right in the heart of Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny, Ireland’s Medieval Capital is perfectly located and connected for domestic and international visitors, just 90 minutes from Dublin, two hours from Cork, and three hours from Belfast.
One of the best and unique features of Kilkenny is its compactness, allowing you to explore everything it has to offer on foot! The Medieval Mile starts at Kilkenny Castle, taking you through our narrow streetscapes, stopping off at the key historical buildings and landmarks on your way. You will first come to the Medieval Mile Museum, followed by a walk down the high street towards Rothe House and the Smithwicks Experience, followed by a visit to St. Canice’s Cathedral and Round Tower. Each unique and full of rich history - a must visit during your stay in Kilkenny!
Take a look at our printable Medieval Mile Map, or stop by the reception, where the team are would be happy to share their local knowledge on the best things to see and do!

Attractions in Kilkenny City

Medieval Mile Museum

St.Mary's Lane, High Street
Kilkenny
+353 56 781 7022
www.medievalmilemuseum.ie
 
The Medieval Mile Museum is Kilkenny's newest visitor attraction, located in the heart of Kilkenny city! Set in 13th Century St.Mary's Church and Graveyard, you can unearth 800 years of our history under one roof! The Museum offers guided and self-guided tours and they have audio guides available in 5 different languages!      
             
Kilkenny Castle

The Parade, Kilkenny City
+353 56 770 4100
www.kilkennycastle.ie
 
With eight centuries of history whispering from its walls, Kilkenny Castle is one of Ireland's most iconic and historic sites.

Rothe House & Garden

Rothe House and Garden, Parliament Street, Kilkenny
+353 56 7722893
www.rothehouse.com
 
Nestled in the centre of Ireland’s Medieval Mile, Rothe House and Garden is the only example of an early 17th century merchant's townhouse in Ireland, and is one of Kilkenny's hidden gems.

Smithwicks Experience Kilkenny

Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny, 44 Parliament Street, Kilkenny

+353 56 7786377
www.smithwicksexperience.com
 
Immerse yourself in the story of Smithwick’s, told as only a local knows how. Where 300 years of history combine with extraordinary brewing innovations, to create the Smithwick’s tour – an experience like no other.

St. Canices Cathedral & Round Tower

The Close, Coach Rd, Kilkenny
+353 56 64971
www.stcanicescathedral.ie

Built between 1202 and 1285, St Canice's has been preserved in its original style and form. Worship has taken place here for over 800 years. See the wonderful stained glass and the largest collection of ancient monuments. View Kilkenny and the surrounding area from the 9th century round tower (weather permitting) and see the seat of the bishop of Ossory dating back to 1120AD.